Curriculum Vitae

Annie Dillard 1945-

Born: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Religion: None



  • The Ellis School
  • B.A. Hollins College 1967 (English)
  • M.A. Hollins College 1968 (English)


  • Scholar-in-Residence, Western Washington University, 1975-1979
  • Various titles ending professor emerita, Wesleyan University, 1980-2002


  • Phi Beta Kappa, 1966
  • Pulitzer Prize, general nonfiction (Pilgrim at Tinker Creek), 1975
  • New York Press Club Award for Excellence ("Innocence in the Galapagos," Harper's Magazine), 1975
  • Washington Governor's Award for Literature, 1977
  • Connecticut Governor's Arts Award, 1993
  • Western Pennsylvania Historical Society History Makers Award, 1993
  • National Endowment for the Arts/Literature Grant, September 1982-September 1983
  • Phi Beta Kappa Orator, Harvard Commencement Exercises, 1983
  • New York Public Library Literary Lion, 1984
  • Boston Public Library "Literary Light," 1990
  • John Simon Guggenheim Foundation Grant, September 1985-September 1986
  • Doctor of Humane Letters, Boston College, 1986; University of Hartford, 1993; Connecticut College, 1993. Subsequent honorary degrees turned down as they take days and days in heels.
  • Middletown Commission on the Arts Award, 1987
  • National Book Critics Circle Award finalist, 1987 (An American Childhood)
  • Appalachian Gold Medallion, 1989; University of Charleston, Charleston, West Virginia
  • St. Botolph's Club Foundation Award in the Arts, 1989; St. Botolph's Club, Boston
  • Ambassador Book Award in letters, English- Speaking Union, 1989 (for The Writing Life)
  • Boston Globe, "Best Books of the Decade" for Teaching a Stone to Talk
  • The Milton Prize, 1994 (The Milton Center, Wichita)
  • The Campion Award (America magazine-int'l), 1994
  • Connecticut Women's Hall of Fame, 1997
  • Fellow, Calhoun College, Yale, 1997-99
  • PEN Diamond-Vogelstein Award for book of essays, 1999, for For the Time Being, which is not a book of essays
  • Pour le meilleur roman etranger, the Maurice Coindreau award, 2002 for For the Time Being, tr. Sabine Porte, and 1975 for Pilgrim at Tinker Creek, tr. Sabine Porte.
  • Academy Award in Literature, 1998, from American Academy of Arts and Letters
  • Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Letters, 1999-
  • century's 100 best nonfiction books includes Pilgrim at Tinker Creek
  • century's 100 best Western novels (Los Angeles Times) incl The Living
  • century's 100 best spiritual books (ed. Philip Zaleski) incl Pilgrim
  • 100 best essays (ed. Joyce Carol Oates) incl "Total Eclipse."
  • Top Ten Books of the Year, The New York Times Book Review, includes The Maytrees and several other titles.
  • Sole finalist in North America for Dublin Times IMPAC award, for The Maytrees.
  • Irish Times, IMPAC Award for The Maytrees as one of the best novels of 2007 worldwide.
  • National Endowment for the Humanities medal for 2014


  • Contributing editor, Harper's magazine, 1974-1981, 1983-1985
  • Usage panelist, American Heritage Dictionary
  • Member, P.E.N., Poetry Society, Committee for Public Libraries, New York Public Library National Literary Committee, (also “Library Lion”) National Committee on U.S.- China Relations, McNair Mentors Program,  The Catholic Commission on Intellectual and Cultural Affairs, NAACP, The Society of American Historians, The Century Association, American Society of Arts and Letters.
  • Honorary board, Key West Literary Seminar
  • Board, Western States Arts Foundation until 1988
    Ossabaw Island Project until 1982
    Ossabaw Foundation, 1994
    The Milton Center, 1980
    The New Press, 1992
    Wesleyan Writer's Conference, 1984-? 
    Chairman, 1991-2003
    Authors Guild Fund, active voter 1993-2011
    Protect Historic America
  • Member, U.S. Cultural Delegation to China (scholars, publishers, writers), May-June, 1982
  • Member, U.S. writers delegation, UCLA U.S.- Chinese writers conference, September, 1982
  • Volunteer, St. Mary's soup kitchen (Fl) {and seldom: Inter-faith Council soup kitchen (N.C.)} for about
    10 years ending 2000
  • "Mentor" Kingswood-Oxford Mentor Program 1990-98
  • Prop., Key West Sat. Volleyball 1994-2004
  • Juror: Associated Writing Program Award in Nonfiction, 1983
  • Bollingen Prize, Yale University Library, 1984
  • Pulitzer Prize General Nonfiction, 1985 and 1991.
  • Western States Book Award, 1988
  • PEN Martha Albrand Award in Nonfiction, 1988 and 1989
  • Connecticut Commission on the Arts, fiction, 1990 
  • Society of American Historians, fiction
  • Barnes and Noble nonfiction prize 2000
  • Nominator: Lila Wallace Foundation
  • MacArthur Foundation--can't remember when
  • 2013 member, American Academy of Arts & Sciences
  • 2000 member, American Academy of Arts & Letters